the grievance process, and the adjudication procedure for the federal public service.

Minister responsible:

President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada

Public Works Canada

Head office Sir Charles Tupper Building Confederation Heights Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0M2 Regional offices: Vancouver, Edmonton, Toronto (Willowdale), Hull, Montreal, Halifax. Field offices: throughout Canada. Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 998-7724.

The Department is responsible for the management of the public works of Canada and the federal real estate properties. The Minister of Public Works is also responsible for the Canada Museums Construction Corporation.

Minister responsible: Minister of Public Works

Revenue Canada, Customs and Excise

Head office Connaught Building Mackenzie Avenue Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L5

Regional offices: (Customs) Vancouver, Calgary, Winnipeg, Windsor, Hamilton, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Quebec, Halifax; (Excise) Vancouver, Calgary, Winnipeg, London, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Quebec, Halifax.

Other offices, including district and customs offices: throughout Canada.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 957-0275.

Customs and Excise is responsible for assessing and collecting duties and taxes on imported and domestically produced goods, as well as on the transportation of persons by air. It controls the international movement of persons and goods, and provides Canadian industry with the protection to which it is entitled under the customs laws. The Customs Act, the Customs Tariff, the Special Import Measures Act, the Excise Act and the Excise Tax Act are administered by Customs and Excise, as are statutes of other government departments and agencies that relate to the international movement of persons and goods.

Minister responsible:

Minister of National Revenue

Revenue Canada, Taxation

Head office 875 Heron Road Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L8

District offices: all provincial capitals (except Fredericton) as well as Vancouver, Penticton, Calgary, Saskatoon, Thunder Bay, Sudbury, Hamilton, Windsor, London, Kitchener, St. Catharines, Mississauga, Scarborough, Belleville (with sub-office in Kingston), Ottawa, Rouyn, Laval, Montreal, Saint-Hubert, Sherbrooke, Quebec district office sub-offices in Chicoutimi, Rimouski and Trois-Rivières, Saint John (with a sub-office in Bathurst), Sydney.

Information: any district taxation office.

Revenue Canada Taxation administers the government's tax policy, which is initiated by the Department of Finance. It assesses and collects individual and corporate income taxes under the Income Tax Act of Canada. Individual income tax is collected for all provinces except Quebec, and corporate tax is collected for all provinces except Quebec, Ontario and Alberta. The Department also collects Canada Pension Plan contributions and unemployment insurance premiums.

Minister responsible: Minister of National Revenue

Royal Canadian Mint

Head office 320 Sussex Drive Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G8

Regional offices: Winnipeg, Ottawa.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 993-3500 (administration); to order Olympic gold coins call, in the Montreal area, 1-800-361-0170, and in the rest of Canada, 1-800-267-1871.

The Mint is authorized to produce and supply Canadian coins, including circulating, collector and bullion coinage. The Mint also produces medals, medallions, tokens, trade dollars, plaques and badges and is authorized to melt, assay and refine gold. It accepts contracts to mint coinage for other countries as well.

Minister responsible:

Minister of Supply and Services

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Head office Headquarters Building 1200 Vanier Parkway Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0R2